One more institution died due to government’s negligence, says P Chidambaram on NSC resignations


With two members of the National Statistical Commission resigning, senior Congress leader P Chidambaram on Wednesday said that one more venerable institution has The former finance ministers attack on the government came in the wake of two independent members of the National Statistical Commission (NSC) – P C Mohanan and J V Meenakshi – resigning on Monday over disagreement with the government on certain issues. Mohanan was also the acting chairperson. May the NSC rest in peace until it is re-born again! With the two members quitting, the NSC now has only two members – Chief Statistician Pravin Srivastava and NITI Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant. In November last year, the NITI Aayog had come under fire for announcing the revised GDP data of the UPA years. NITI Aayog Vice-Chairman Rajiv Kumar and Chief Statistician Srivastava had announced the back-series data by the government.

标签:, , , ,