Prakash Ambedkar, Owaisi combine will hurt Congress-NCP in Maharashtra election


Maharashtra Election 2019: Indias second largest state Maharashtra is all set to see a direct contest between BJP-Shiv Sena alliance which bagged 41 of the states 48 Lok Sabha seats in the last election and the Congress-NCP combine. However, a new alliance between Dalit icon Baba Saheb Ambedkars grandson Prakash Ambedkar and Asaduddin Owaisis The state is key to Prime Minister Narendra Modis re-election bid as his party BJP emerged as the single largest party not only in 2014 Lok Sabha election but also in Maharashtra assembly elections held in October 2014. Congress President Rahul Gandhi and his alliance partner Nationalist Congress Party led by veteran Maratha leader Sharad Pawar are trying to regain their lost prominence in Maharashtra politics which they ruled for 15 years from 1999-2014. However, the entry of Prakash Ambedkars Vanchit Bahujan Aaghadi has upset their election arithmetic in the state. ALSO READ: This alliance is expected to cut the votes of both BJP-Shiv Sena and Congress-NCP alliance but it will hurt the opposition alliance more. He started with 4 seats, then raised the demand to 6, we could have agreed for 6 seats too but he eventually asked for 12 seats then we called off the talks, ALSO READ: Among the two alliance partners It will hurt Congress and NCP. Some Dalit votes of BJP-Shiv Sena will be affected but that will not be much, With its 48 Lok Sabha seats, Maharashtra is crucial for both NDA and UPA. NDA had won 41 seats (BJP 21, Shiv Sena 18) and then NDA ally Raju Shetty had won one seat in 2014 Lok Sabha election, leaving just six seats for Congress-NCP (Congress 2, NCP 4). In this election, Raju Shettys Swabhimani Shetkari Saghtana has joined hands with NCP and he is contesting Hatkanangle Lok Sabha seat. ALSO READ: According to the Congress Rajya Sabha member, the party was willing to give Akola Lok Sabha seat to Prakash Ambedkar to bring him on board but he refused. It will hurt us in Akola, ALSO READ: While voting for 7 Lok Sabha seats has already taken place in the first phase on April 11, polling for remaining 41 seats will take place over three phases, 10 seats on April 18, 14 seats on April 23 and maximum 17 seats will vote in the fourth phase on April 29. And the assembly elections are due in the state before October this year.

标签:, , , ,