Goa Floor Test highlights: BJP-led Pramod Sawant government wins trust vote


Goa Floor Test highlights: In its first major test two days after Pramod Sawant was sworn in as the new chief minister of Goa, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government in the coastal state managed to comfortably sail through in the trust vote conducted in the assembly. As per reports, as many as 20 MLAs voted in favour of the BJP-led government. It was also a major setback for the Congress which had staked claim to form government being the single largest party recently. The BJP-led government had earlier claimed support of 21 MLAs. Out of this 12 were from BJP, three each of allies Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and three Independents. The strength of the 40-member Assembly was reduced to 36 after the Manohar Parrikar. BJP MLA Francis DSouza has also passed away last month. Two Congress MLAs Subhash Shirodkar and Dayanand Sopte has also resigned from the party and switched over to the BJP. As per the power-sharing agreement with other parties, an MLA each from the two smaller parties supporting the BJP will be made deputy chief minister, reports said. They are GFP chief Vijai Sardesai and MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar. “,”headline”: “Goa Floor Test highlights: BJP-led Pramod Sawant government wins trustvote

标签:, , , ,