Lok Sabha elections 2019: Armed with Assembly victory, KCR adds muscle by winning over rivals


K T Rama Rao, son of Telangana Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) working president K Chandrasekhar Rao, has termed the upcoming elections as their Buoyed by the landslide win in the Assembly elections in Telangana last year, KCR has set sight on playing kingmaker in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and has managed to rope in key leaders into its fold in the past few days. KCRs party, the TRS, is counting on winning 16 of Telangana Interestingly, the 17th constituency, which is the much coveted Hyderabad, has gone to Asaduddin Owaisi, TRS ally and AIMIM chief, who is expected to win again. As the end of the term approaches, the TRS has adopted a district-wise approach to the elections, cleverly aiming to consolidate where an Opposition party won one or two Assembly segments back in 2014. The party has taken big strides by winning candidates from rival parties, with its win in the December Assembly elections elevating the party The TRS had won all the Assembly seats falling in 18 districts in the 31 districts of Telangana in the 2014 polls which increased to 33 post the elections. Back then, the elections were conducted in a united Andhra Pradesh. Out of seven districts, the party won all except one seat, meaning that the TRS has to cover eight districts or four-five Lok Sabha seats. READ ALSO | The TRS successfully wooed one TDP, one Congress, along with one Independent MLA in Khammam district recently. It is noteworthy that the YSRCP in 2014 had won the Khammam Lok Sabha seat whereas the TRS had won the adjoining Mahbubabad, parts of which also fall under the Khammam district. In addition, Congress MLA Rega Kantha Rao from Pinapaka in the neighbouring Bhadradri Kothagudem district has also joined the TRS, making the party stronger in the area. In the 2018 Assembly elections held in December, the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led TRS won both the Assembly seats of Mahbubabad district while it won just one seat in Khammam district. The Congress party won two seats, TDP and an independent candidate won one each.

标签:, , , ,